Eight Fire Frogs Going to FSL All-Star Game

The Florida State League announced on Thursday they will be sending eight players on the Florida Fire Frogs roster to the All-Star Game for the 2017 season. The Atlanta Braves‘ Advanced-A affiliate in its inaugural season will have five position players and three pitchers participitating.

Alex Jackson, Carlos Castro, Austin Riley, Tyler Neslony, and Braxton Davidson as position players and Drew Harrington, Tyler Pike, and Devan Watts as pitchers. 

Jackson is batting .359/.575/.301 and leads the ball club with 10 home runs, although he’s missed the last 13 games with an undisclosed injury. Riley is second on the team in home runs with 8 and leads the team in runs batted in (35) and hits (52). 

Castro is batting .326/.360/.515 with seven home runs and 29 runs batted in while Neslony is currently on a 12-game hitting streak and is batting .302/.382/.468 with 42 hits this season. Davidson has proven himself to be a patient hitter at the plate, leading the team with 34 walks in 48 games. 

Harrington and Pike are tied for the team lead with four wins. Pike is 4-2 with a 2.13 ERA and is fifth in the league for lowest ERA while Harrington has a 4-4 record with a 3.38 ERA and is fourth in team strikeouts (41). Watts has four saves with a 1.74 ERA, 0.97 WHIP, and 27 strikeouts in 20 and 2/3 innings of relief.

The FSL All-Star Game will take place on Saturday, June 17th. Game time is 7:00 PM at Joker Marchant Stadium, home of the Lakeland Flying Tigers and spring training home of the Detroit Tigers. 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *